Hi

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Roxane1232, Mar 14, 2017.

1. Roxane1232

Roxane1232 Bolivian ram Well-known Member

I am very new to the Hobby I recently just purchased an amazing used 37-gallon fresh water aquarium that had a few decorations a filter gravel as well as water conditioner and air pump so right now I am in the process of researching before I set it up. I also plan on including my nieces and nephews in the project, so I want to have the tank up and running and cycled before school is out, so the plan is to start setting it up no later than the middle of April. So any ideas to get it up and running smoothly would be much appreciated, I already plan on getting my water from Fish R Us as well as my water heater, and live plants but I am open to other suggestions. The fish I am definetly interested in are Angelfish, Gouramis, although I know I can only have one or the other corries, and raspboras, I also plan on getting shrimp to help with the algae, and having my nieces and nephews each pick their own fish, so far my nephew wants a red tailed shark.

Attached Files:

2. Anders247

Anders247 Bolivian ram Administrator Moderator Well-known Member

Welcome to the forum!

3. CarpCharacin

CarpCharacin Cyprinus carpio Administrator Fish mentor

Welcome to the forum! We are glad you decided to join. You have a few options on how to cycle the tank. You could either use pure ammonia to cycle it without fish, or you could add a small amount of hardy fish to cycle the tank and then slowly add more fish.

4. Anders247

Are the dimensions of the tank 30 by 12? I'll help you set up the stocking.

5. Roxane1232

I think I am going to get a few hardy fish from fish r us when I have it all set up. What fish do you suggest I use for the cycle, I can't get fin nippers because I plan on getting either a Gourami or Angel as my centerpiece fish.

6. Roxane1232

Yes that would be great thanks.

7. Anders247

I'd suggest this:
    1 angelfish